Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This is possibly a very simple question, but I couldn't find a definitive answer in the players handbook.

If a character has a speed of 6, can he move 3 squares, perform an action, then move the remaining 3 squares?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

No, a standard action cannot bisect a move action.

Each action must be fully resolved before you can begin another action (aside from triggered actions). However, you can use them in any order you like: attack, then move; or move before attacking. There are specific powers and features which provide exceptions to this rule.

share|improve this answer
free actions are also an exception here IIRC. – wax eagle Dec 20 '12 at 13:23
What if you ready an action (standard attack) with a trigger of "When I become adjacent to an enemy" or something like that? – jbabey Dec 31 '12 at 18:10
@jbabey That would be a triggered action treated as an immediate reaction, and so takes place right after the action which triggered it; it cannot interrupt that action (also by the definition of "readied action" it can't happen on your turn anyway). – BESW Jan 23 '13 at 8:38

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.