Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Fate Core suggests one way to differentiate weapons and armor is by giving each one an Aspect. Daggers could be Quick, for instance, and maces could be Armor Piercing. I really like this idea. My question is, how would this actually work mechanically? I'm trying to picture how this would tie into "Creating an Advantage" or how it would modify attack rolls or shifts.

A few examples to help fuel thinking caps:

  • Quick Dagger vs. Heavy Greatsword?
  • Long Spear vs. Balanced Longsword?

Any thoughts?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

It would simply give you excuses for invokes and compels, based on the aspect text. Nothing less, nothing more.

— Wesroth attacks Quadron using his longsword, with Fighting 3

— Ok but Quadron has a Long Spear, here's a compel for you, this fate point says Wesroth spends this exchange trying to close in with Quadron, struggling to find an opening.

— Good call, but no, I refuse your compel. Here's a fate point, Wesroth does manage to attack despite the long spear

Wesroth:Attack: [Roll + + - ·] + [Fighting 3] = +4(Great)

Quadron:Defend: [Roll + - · ·] + [Fighting 2] = +2(Fair)

— Whoops, that's physical stress box #2 for me …err… Quadron. Fortunately Quadron can take it and live.

— Not so fast, Wesroth has a Balanced longsword, and I invoke it. He feints an attack but flips the sword and uses the pommel to push Quadron's spear aside, easily getting inside his guard. That brings my roll into a fantastic +6. I guess that's a #4 stress box, which Quadron doesn't have

— Oh cr*p! …

… and it goes on like this

share|improve this answer
    
Would these invokes and compels be free (never, once, or indefinitely)? –  kevlar1818 Dec 24 '12 at 6:26
1  
No, they are subject to the same rules as any other aspect. Use fate points to compel or invoke, unless you just created them, in which case, you can invoke once for free but compels always need a fate point –  edgerunner Dec 24 '12 at 7:03
3  
+1 and nice combat example :) –  wraith808 Dec 24 '12 at 13:54

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.