Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

As part of a playtest, Magician and I rolled up "typical" (for us) characters in the latest (December 17) playtest of D&D Next (commentary here).

I went with a trickster cleric with spy background. This caused an overlap of stealth and disguise. (Further compounded by me wanting to take hide in shadow ... which again granted me stealth.)

As far as I can tell, this edition of the playtest has absolutely no rules on what happens when you are granted a skill from multiple sources. Have I missed something? Is there a commonly agreed upon fix?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 14 down vote accepted

The playtest rules state you just take the skill of your choice in place of the duplicate, especially with the most recent set of changes.

Now that the Player's Handbook and Player's Basic Rules are available, this is clarified further:

If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (PBR, p. 36; PHB, p. 126)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.