Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I made a trickster cleric with spy background. This caused an overlap of stealth and disguise. (Further compounded by me wanting to take hide in shadow ... which again granted me stealth.)

What happens when you are granted a skill from multiple sources?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 25 down vote accepted

The playtest rules state you just take the skill of your choice in place of the duplicate, especially with the most recent set of changes.

Now that the Player's Handbook and Player's Basic Rules are available, this is clarified further:

If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (PBR, p. 36; PHB, p. 126)

share|improve this answer
    
A rule like this is missing for D&D 3.5, regarding feats. This is a good step forward that WoTC did on 5e. –  Thales Sarczuk Jan 29 at 9:55

From the Player's Basic Rules, page 36 (the section on Backgrounds):

Proficiencies

Each background gives a character proficiency in two skills. Skills are described in chapter 7. In addition, most backgrounds give a character proficiency with one or more tools. Tools and tool proficiencies are detailed in chapter 5. If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead.

So in this situation, where you receive proficiency with the disguise kit from 2 different sources, you simply choose another tool to gain proficiency in. Note that this has to be a tool proficiency, not a skill proficiency.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.