Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a Wilder/Psiwarrior Character I have just created and I have a question. Does this character get bonus PP Per day based on both his Wisdom and Charisma? I was unsure when I was reading this and was wondering.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 13 down vote accepted

Calculate the Power Points granted by each class separately, then combine them to form your total pool.

So yes, it can be said that your Wilder/Psychic Warrior would receive bonus PP for both Wisdom and Charisma, but these bonus PP would be as appropriate for the manifester levels of each class. For example, a Wilder 6/Psychic Warrior 2 with Wisdom 14 and Charisma 18 would have a total PP pool of

35 PP (Wilder base) + 0.5*4*6 PP (Wilder bonus for Cha) + 1 PP (PsyWar base) + 0.5*2*2 PP (PsyWar bonus for Wis) = 50 PP.

Rules text for reference.

share|improve this answer
    
I would tend to agree with this interpretation. A Wizard/Sorcerer would get bonus spells for both Int and Cha. Psionicists just have the ability (not without cost) of being able to use a combined point pool. –  Bacon Bits Dec 29 '12 at 4:23
1  
Wow you must be Psychic. My Build is exactly that but with 14 Cha and 18 Wis Although I think Ill Switch it. maybe. I dunno Its a Mellee Centric Psionic Character Using the Wilder as the majority Class for the Power Boost from wild Surge. –  Novian Dec 29 '12 at 4:26
1  
Psychic? I prefer the term "Psion". :D –  Ernir Dec 29 '12 at 4:29
1  
@Gaxx: I suspect it's very hard to really accomplish that, since PP growth is non-linear, you're splitting your ability scores, and that's without even mentioning the problems inherent in lost manifesting. –  KRyan Dec 30 '12 at 18:06
1  
@Gaxx: For example, a Psychic Warrior 16/Wilder 4 loses 48 PP from missing PsyWar levels. His PsyWar ML is the same due to Practiced Manifester, and if he burns a second feat on it for Wilder, he gains 17+2*Cha PP from Wilder. It's unlikely that this character is going to have 30+ Charisma, so this is a bad trade. –  KRyan Dec 30 '12 at 18:40

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.