Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Suppose I'm playing a character with Craft as a class skill. I put 1 rank in it, select Weaponsmith to fit my background and end up with Craft (Weapons) +4. Now, if I later decide I want to be able to make bows and arrows, do I also get another +3 bonus on Craft (Bows) when I invest a new rank? There are different kinds of craft, just like there are different kinds of knowledge, but the class skill bonus for craft is completely unspecified.

share|improve this question
up vote 20 down vote accepted


Craft is actually a number of separate skills. So if you have the class bonus for craft you have it for all the skills in the craft "family".

share|improve this answer
Because Pathfinder characters are that badass – Nigralbus Dec 31 '12 at 8:47
If you're good at making things, you're good at making all the things. – oldrobotsneverrust Jan 3 '13 at 16:09

If you only had 1 rank in weapons and not another in bows, it only affects that specific craft skill. If you are spending 2 ranks in them, 1 in both, then they are both receiving the bonus for being a class skill.

share|improve this answer
When posting an answer, you may want to ensure that it provides something that is not already covered in an existing answer. Currently this reads as a slightly less well written version of the existing answer. – Miniman Oct 22 '14 at 5:48
I think this answer emphasises something missing in the first: that you don't get the +3 bonus in another craft until you spend a point in that specialty. – Paul Hutton Oct 22 '14 at 7:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.