Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Suppose I'm playing a character with Craft as a class skill. I put 1 rank in it, select Weaponsmith to fit my background and end up with Craft (Weapons) +4. Now, if I later decide I want to be able to make bows and arrows, do I also get another +3 bonus on Craft (Bows) when I invest a new rank? There are different kinds of craft, just like there are different kinds of knowledge, but the class skill bonus for craft is completely unspecified.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 21 down vote accepted

Yes.

Craft is actually a number of separate skills. So if you have the class bonus for craft you have it for all the skills in the craft "family".

share|improve this answer
    
Because Pathfinder characters are that badass –  Nigralbus Dec 31 '12 at 8:47
4  
If you're good at making things, you're good at making all the things. –  oldrobotsneverrust Jan 3 '13 at 16:09

If you only had 1 rank in weapons and not another in bows, it only affects that specific craft skill. If you are spending 2 ranks in them, 1 in both, then they are both receiving the bonus for being a class skill.

share|improve this answer
1  
When posting an answer, you may want to ensure that it provides something that is not already covered in an existing answer. Currently this reads as a slightly less well written version of the existing answer. –  Miniman 6 hours ago
    
I think this answer emphasises something missing in the first: that you don't get the +3 bonus in another craft until you spend a point in that specialty. –  Paul Hutton 4 hours ago

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.