Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have an animal companion which has just gained its 5th HD. On page 291 of Monster Manual 1, the Improving Monsters section says that an increase in Size also changes stats.

Do animal companions (e.g. from Druid or the Wild Cohort feat) increase in size based on their HD, and if so, do they also gain the stat adjustments from MM1 p291?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

No, in D&D 3.5, animal companions do not grow in size due to bonus HD. It does not clearly state this in the core rules but is explicitly stated in a Skip Williams rules article on animals on Wizards's site.

Like many things, this was improved in Pathfinder, where specific size increases are defined per animal companion type explicitly in the rules.

share|improve this answer
add comment

A druid's animal companion is not a standard monster or animal. The bonus hit dice do not change its size, but instead it receives other special traits when the druid advances, as outlined in the Player's Handbook, page 36.

share|improve this answer
thank you for your help –  Novian Dec 31 '12 at 7:42
This is what I thought the explicit rule was, but I've been unable to find any place a moratorium on growth is actually written. Can you provide a citation? Because I'm stumped. –  BESW Dec 31 '12 at 8:39
@BESW Page 36 seems to be the only explanation of animal companions, and it doesn't mention anything about size changes. Likewise, it doesn't mention animal companions turning into a tarrasque, either. –  okeefe Dec 31 '12 at 9:29
add comment

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.