Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Savage World, every 1 Power you maintain is a -1 to your casting roll. If I have a power that targets 5 (and which requires maintaining), is it considered as maintaining 1 power or 5 powers?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 9 down vote accepted

One power. Basically you can count your castings. So if you've got a multi-target spell like Burrow, you can maintain it on everybody as one spell (you're only casting the spell once, you're just hitting extra people thanks to the Additional targets clause). But if you cast Deflection on 3 people, that would be 3 spells being maintained (since you had to spend 3 actions to do so, rolled to cast three times, etc).

share|improve this answer
2  
Essentially, if a Power has the "Additional Targets" option, it counts as 1 maintained Power regardless of how many targets it affects? –  Extrakun Jan 4 '13 at 9:12
2  
Count the powers that you cast. If you cast Burrow on 5 targets, then Burrow another 5 targets, that's 2 powers to maintain over 10 targets. –  Hand-E-Food Jan 4 '13 at 11:31
    
@extrakun, that is correct. One casting is one power, even if the spell / power has the additional targets ability. –  Benjamin Schollnick Feb 25 '13 at 15:48

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.