I'm confused about how to DM the first round of an encounter using Moldvay's rules, specifically, when is the DM supposed to use the Monster Reaction table on page B24.
Say a party encounters a group of wandering monsters. After rolling for number appearing and distance away, the DM rolls 1d6 for both the monsters and the party to check for surprise. For this example, say neither side is surprised.
The DM then rolls for initiative and finds that the party wins initiative.
The DM secretly rolls for Monster Reaction as well, and in this example finds that the monsters are uncertain and are confused (roll = 7).
Here's my question. In this example, the party gets to act first. Does the DM tell the party that the monsters look confused and uncertain BEFORE the party gets to decide what they want to do?
And what if the party, once they do decide what to do, decides to run away in this case? Does it matter what the Monster Reaction was, or does it always just come down to who has the faster movement rate (the party or the monsters)?