Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Diaspora the two handed stunt for melee says "Weapon is designed for two-handed use and is awkward in the hands of those not sufficiently strong. The wielder may amplify his Skill check with his Stamina. 1bp." What do they mean by amplify? One of the more experienced players said that I only add one point to my roll, but I don't understand why if that is the case it doesn't just say "add one to your skill check" instead .

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

A higher skill may augment another one in Diaspora by +1 when they work together. In other words, you get the +1 only if your Stamina is or higher than your Weapons skill.

Diaspora p. 10

skill a is amplified by skill b

This indicates that Skill A is used for the check. If Skill B exceeds Skill A, then an additional +1 is granted. For example, a Brawling check amplified by Strength (as might happen if a character tries to throw a large table during a fight) with Brawling 2 and Strength 5 would be checked at 3 (Brawling rank +1) + 4dF.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.