Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was Looking at the class abilities for Initiate of the Sevenfold Veil and I Saw how specific spells got through them much like a Prismatic Wall needing 7 different spells to get rid of it. I was wondering can each veil be dispelled by dispel magic or just by the spell in its entry. for example the orange veil being destroyed by a gust of wind spell.

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Only the violet veil is vulnerable to dispel magic. The rest follow the rules of the prismatic spells, such as prismatic wall.

share|improve this answer
This is very correct. Additionally, even if the ability it's based on (Prismatic Sphere, Prismatic Wall) HAD been vulnerable to dispels, the Initiate's wardings are a (Su) ability if I'm remembering correctly, and as such beyond the reach of dispel attempts. – Lord_Gareth Jan 8 '13 at 20:50
I agree with this answer, but I would like to point out that it hinges on interpreting the "These veils duplicate the layers of a prismatic wall" clause as the warding as a whole being negatable as a Prismatic Wall only. @Lord_Gareth The Wardings are a SLA, and would thus be subject to normal dispelling if it were not for the clause. – Ernir Jan 8 '13 at 20:53
I stand corrected, thank'ee kindly. It's been a bit since I got a close look at the class - my CompArc's 900 miles away. – Lord_Gareth Jan 8 '13 at 20:54

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.