Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When a character is resurrected using the Raise Dead ritual, she gets a death penalty:

The subject returns with a death penalty: –1 to all attack rolls, skill checks, saving throws, and ability checks. This death penalty fades after the subject reaches three milestones. [PHB1 311]

Now, a milestone is very clearly defined:

When the adventurers complete two consecutive encounters without stopping for an extended rest, they reach a milestone. [Rules Compendium 22]

My question is, does the death penalty require the milestones to be uninterrupted by extended rests?

E.g., if a resurrected character fights two battles (1 milestone), takes an extended rest, fights two more battles (1 milestone), spends a week at the spa and then engages in two more battles (1 milestone), does she lose her death penalty after that sixth fight?

Or does she have to fight six times in a row before going to bed, or it doesn't count?

share|improve this question
4  
I think the wording pretty clearly states that you can go to bed between milestones (or rather it doesn't state anything else). But I am no FourthED-er, so I don't know for sure. –  Maurycy Zarzycki Jan 11 '13 at 10:25

1 Answer 1

up vote 14 down vote accepted

does the death penalty require the milestones to be uninterrupted by extended rests?

No. It says three milestones, not three milestones without resting.

You get a milestone if you do two encounters without resting.

Encounter, Encounter, milestone achieved, Encounter, Encounter, milestone achieved, Rest, Encounter, Encounter, milestone achieved — makes three milestones.

(I don't think I've ever played a game where the party has gone through 6 encounters without a rest, they tend to deplete resources too much in the games I've played).

As an aside: Action points are gained when you reach milestones, but explicitly reset to one when you take an extended rest. The death penalty elimination count does not have this explicit reset, which seems to support the above argument.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.