Sign up ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What happens when the space behind someone is already occupied by a wall? Do they take damage, fall prone, does it not work etc.?

share|improve this question
The wall wins... –  mirv120 Jan 15 '13 at 13:32

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Usual Rule

It counts as a successful Bull Rush for the purposes of any abilities that care about things like that, but they do not move.

Shock Trooper

This feat from Complete Warrior, most famous for its ability to allow you to apply Power Attack penalties to your AC instead of Attack during a charge, also allows you to move foes that you Bull Rush to the side, as well as forward. So if they’re against a wall, this could allow you to move them along the wall.

It also allows you to Bull Rush one enemy into another, knocking both Prone.


The Dungeoncrasher ACF from Dungeonscape allows a Fighter to do sizeable damage (8d6+3×Str) with this maneuver. This is so reliable and potent that this ACF alone is enough to push the Fighter up a Tier.

share|improve this answer
can we assume the same is true if instead of the wall it is another person? –  Ben-Jamin Apr 10 at 13:48
Also, can u cite the source of your "normal rule" I don't see that spelled out anywhere...if we're inferring from lack of explicit rules &/or utilizing similar rules for other maneuvers (ie tumble) that's fine too just please state that too. Thx –  Ben-Jamin Apr 10 at 13:51
@Ben-Jamin There simply is no requirement that you cannot initiate a bull rush if there isn’t room for the target to move (Pathfinder actually added such a rule, though it’s still unclear if that means you’re not even allowed to try). But since they cannot move into the only square the bull rush can push them into, they don’t move at all. As for another person rather than a wall, no, I think they would move. You can enter other creature’s squares, after all, so you can also be shoved into them. –  KRyan Apr 10 at 14:01

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.