Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In 2nd edition Legend of the Five Rings, is there a penalty for rolling too many tens in a row (like in monopoly for rolling doubles 3 times in a row)?

For some reason I'm convinced there is, but it might have been a house rule when I played years ago...

share|improve this question
    
Just as a side note...why would there be a penalty for this? Why on earth would you penalise someone for being too lucky?? –  YogoZuno Jan 15 '13 at 21:37

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

No.

Under the standard rules, each dice keeps exploding until you stop rolling 10s.

Remember that each dice explodes seperately. If you have 3k2 and roll 10, 10, 6 then you get to reroll the 10s. Say they come up 10 and 7, you'd have 20, 17 and 6. Assume the next roll comes up 3, you'd have 23, 17 and 6. Keep 2 means you'd choose two dice and the best two here are the 23 and 17 for a total roll of 40.

share|improve this answer
    
Okidoke! Chain reaction explosion it is. –  Carolina Loza Jan 15 '13 at 17:36
    
ipso facto Sim! –  Carolina Loza Jan 15 '13 at 17:58

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.