Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Legend of the Five Rings (2nd edition) this subject is spoken of twice but it's not clear:

It says that the wounds are your earth ring *2 and next to the level there's a +X i.e: stamina 3, willpower 3 = earth 3 so

Wounds

__ 6 +0

__ 12 +3

etc.

It seems like this means that your first 6 wound points are free and hinder you in no manner, 7 or more in wounds will raise ALL your movement/battle related TN's (spellcasting for shugenja) by 3, and by more if you get wounded more than 12. Is that correct?

share|improve this question
    
Sorry, what's the question you're asking? –  SevenSidedDie Jan 15 '13 at 17:54
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Yes, the +number at each level is the TN modifier you get for having that many wounds or fewer.

share|improve this answer
add comment

That was a friendly debate at the tables I've been at/run. We wondered if you had to fill a rank to get the bonus, or merely have any tics within it. For 1st-3rd editions, we said that a character would have to fill the rank to get its penalty with an obvious launch point of +0 (although we had a one-shot where you would get a +3 to your rolls and not TNs if you had 0 wounds for peak condition).

As far as the RAW is concerned, if you start a wound rank's track you have that penalty which overwrites other penalties.
However, if you take this route I would highly recommend doing a house rule for putting the Healthy rank at [Earth x 5] and the rest at [Earth x 2] as per the 4th Edition RAW. I instantiated this in my 3e campaign when 4e just came out and it made all the difference since the players could take 20 wounds and only be at a +3 instead of a +20. In a campaign where combat is a must I highly recommend this alteration. 4e also recommends that in especially brutal campaigns you can modify the multiplier to the Earth ring per rank but I feel that rule to be too lenient as a personal call.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.