Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I noticed some weapons, like the Elven Thinblade, can qualify for Weapon Finesse despite being classified as one-handed weapons. Does this mean I can wield it two-handed for 150% of my Dex bonus? Alternately, how can a Swashbuckler/Rogue multiclass apply Dex to attack rolls?

share|improve this question
3  
Related: rpg.stackexchange.com/q/15916/4089 –  LitheOhm Jan 17 '13 at 4:39
7  
I think you're confused on one point: Weapon Finesse only allows you to use your Dex in place of Str on the attack roll. Your damage roll still uses Str as normal, and it's only that which gets the bonus for wielding in two hands. –  starwed Jan 17 '13 at 4:40
    
Oh right, but still, since I'm a Swashbuckler, I use Int instead of Str for damage rolls eventually. Can the two-handed thing still help with that? –  Cobalt Jan 17 '13 at 4:42
5  
No, swashbucklers add intelligence in addition to strength on damage rolls. You'd still only get the 50% bonus on the strength modifier. –  starwed Jan 17 '13 at 4:45
1  
If you would like to add your Dex modifier to your melee damage, I'd check out the Shadow Blade feat from Tome of Battle. You'll need to take Martial Study for a Shadow Hand maneuver, then snag Martial Stance (I'd suggest Assassin's Stance) for a Shadow Hand stance, but once you're done you'll be adding Str, Dex, and Intelligence to your melee attacks. In fact, you might be best served by just beginning to put levels in Swordsage, which'll support your finesse-based style and let you pick up Shadow Blade without lighting two feats up for it. –  Lord_Gareth Jan 17 '13 at 15:49

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

They are not mutually exclusive

And in fact there's even one weapon that's two-handed but finessable (the Spiked Chain). You can Power Attack with a finesse'd weapon as well, unless it's classified as a Light Weapon. Did the designers intend this? We'll never know, but the RAW is fairly clear on the matter, as there's not text in Weapon Finesse or the section on using a one-handed weapon in two hands that forbids it.

share|improve this answer
1  
The Elven Courtblade (Races of the Wild) is the other fairly-well-known two-handed finesse weapon. Probably worth noting that all two-handed finesse weapons are Exotic, so far as I know. It's not a normal property. And the Rapier, the best-known one-handed (not light) finesse weapon specifically forbids two-handing it (well, rather, denies you the damage bonus for doing so; Power Attack would still benefit oddly enough). –  KRyan Jan 17 '13 at 5:17
4  
Actually... this is not quite right. Weapon finesse states "light weapon, rapier, whip or spiked chain...", and Light Weapons says "Using two hands to wield a light weapon gives no advantage on damage". By RAW, Weapon Finesse and wielding a weapon in two hands for the damage bonus are mutually exclusive, except for specifically named weapons. Please see the question linked by LitheOhm in the question comments for more information. The Exotic Elven weapons are edge cases, and I would rule differently than RAW. Starwed also brings up good points in the comments. –  Phill.Zitt Jan 17 '13 at 5:57
1  
You're conflating two separate rules; Weapon Finesse applies to all light weapons plus a selection of other weapons. Yes, you can't use Light Weapons to gain the two-handed damage bonus - however, if you can somehow finesse a non-raipier one-handed weapon, or apply Finesse to the many two-handed weapons available, they do not suffer from the same restriction at all. The feat itself is not incompatible - Light weapons are. The distinction is significant since you can't two-hand a Light weapon even if you're not using Finesse, just like you can't Power Attack with one. –  Lord_Gareth Jan 17 '13 at 15:33
3  
Well, for one there's some resources that let you finesse weapons that wouldn't normally be finessable. However, what I'm talking about is weapons like the Elven Courtblade, the Spiked Chain, and (IIRC, might be wrong about this one) the Elven Thinblade - all Finessable non-Light weapons which can thus benefit from both Finesse and Power Attack, as well as the two-handed rules. It's important to remember that the rule on Light Weapons is very distinct from the text of Weapon Finesse; Finesse doesn't turn weapons you use it with into Light weapons. –  Lord_Gareth Jan 17 '13 at 16:02
2  
Less discussion please. Post your own answers if you don't like this one. –  mxyzplk Jan 19 '13 at 0:23

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.