Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The spell Armor of earth pg. 216 in L5R 2ed Player's guide states:

For the duration of the spell all damage dice rolled against a shugenja which are less than or equal to their caster's school rank are ignored.

So if the caster's school rank is 4, what does that mean?

a) The opponent gets to roll 5 dice and 4 are ignored.

b) Of the dice rolled by the opponent, any value of 4 or lower doesn't affect the caster.

c) Something else completely?

share|improve this question

b is the correct answer - if the enemy attacker hit, and then rolled 5k3 for damage, and the results were 1,2,3,8,12 (from an exploding ten), then they could only keep the 8 and 12 for a total of 20 damage - the rest are ignored. Without the spell effect, the damage would be 8+12+3 = 23. If, on the other hand, the attacker rolled all 4 or less, there would be no damage.

IIRC, this is the same mechanic as Armor/Carapace for Shadowlands creatures.

share|improve this answer
You mean the 1 & 2 couldn't be kept, which doesn't really change the example result? (Side note: The Defense skill works similarly with the To Hit roll) – CatLord Jan 22 '13 at 3:15
Woops - brain bad, better fix that... – YogoZuno Jan 22 '13 at 6:46
And with that edit, my +1, Zuno. – CatLord Jan 22 '13 at 19:23

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.