Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The 4th level spell Mnemonic Enhancer seems a bit weird and a bit useless:

  • Burn a forth level spell to get back a third or lower spell you cast the previous round.
  • You prepare up to three additional levels of spells (cantrips count as 1/2 level)

However the duration for this:

the spell or spells prepared or retained fade after 24 hours (if not cast)

appears to indicate you could potentially cast this before your nights rest and then, the next day, have those extra spell levels at your disposal, however the clarification line:

You prepare and cast these spells normally.

Possibly counters this. (Although I believe it refers to how you can prepare those spells, ie you still have to sit down and learn them)

So:

Can a Wizard cast Mnemonic Enhancer before resting, prepare those spells and the next day have those three extra levels of spells for all of the next day (minus 8 hours) ?

Or is the only effective way to use this to have it in a scroll or a wand (therefore giving you extra slots without sacrificing the 4th level slots for lower level ones)

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Yes, he can.

As per PFSRD,

Until he prepares spells from his spellbook, the only spells a wizard has available to cast are the ones that he already had prepared from the previous day and has not yet used. During the study period, he chooses which spells to prepare. If a wizard already has spells prepared (from the previous day) that he has not cast, she can abandon some or all of them to make room for new spells.

There is no obligation to drop those extra prepared spells; moreover, you could change your selection of additional spells prepared (but not the selection of spell slots they are in).

As a side note, a scroll or wand of Mnemonic Enhancer (or, rather, the retain option of the spell) would not be terribly effective, since you must cast it on the round following the casting of the spell you wish to retain.

share|improve this answer
    
Fabboo! Cheers, I thought it likely but the wording was a little "hmmmm" –  Rob Jan 24 '13 at 14:56
    
That's my reading as well. Bear in mind that you have to have "wasted" a 4th level spell slot to gain 3 levels of spells to do this--at least insofar as you went all day not casting a 4th level spell that you could have. –  Jacob Proffitt Jan 24 '13 at 16:21
1  
Yesterday's 4th level slot for today's 3 more spell levels is a good choice, given right circumstances. –  Jeor Mattan Jan 24 '13 at 18:21
    
Casting a 4th level spell that lasts for more than 9 hours (rest+memorizing) is better than that @JeorMattan –  Zachiel Mar 18 '13 at 23:38
    
Also: If you have an Arcane Bonded object and haven't used it - this is an excellent spell to cast before sleeping :) –  Rob Oct 29 '13 at 11:02

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.