Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The feat Master Craftsman allows opportunities for non-caster classes to fabricate magic items. If a level 6 fighter has both Master Craftsman and the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feats, how would this work? Since a fighter does not have spells for the requirements, how is this handled?

What would the DC be for a 6th level fighter to craft a +2 longbow using Master Craftsman? Is this even possible without having the spell requirements?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 14 down vote accepted

You wish to craft a +2 longbow. First, we must figure out the longbow's Caster Level. We find this under Magic Weapons.

For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus.

Which gives us a caster level of 3*2 = 6. You use your number of ranks in the skill you chose to link to your Master Craftsman feat as your caster level for purposes of crafting, so a 6th level Fighter can meet this requirement if he kept his ranks maxed.

Then, we find out the craft DC of the weapon. This we find under Magic Item Creation.

The DC to create a magic item is 5 + the caster level for the item.

Since our character is a Master Craftsman, this skill check is a check of that feat's connected skill. Its DC is 5 + 6 = 11. Since this bow only has an enhancement bonus, our calculations stop, and we have the final DC.

Had this been a more interesting magic item (one that requires specific spells as part of the casting process), this neat clause (again from Magic Item Creation is likely to be of assistance:

The DC to create a magic item increases by 5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory.

Alternatively, our Master Craftsman could enlisted the help of others when crafting magic items with spell requirements, as described under "Requirements" in Magic Item Descriptions.

share|improve this answer
1  
+1 Nice blow by blow breakdown; could you add in a note about the feat level pre-requiste (is it relevant any more) and the character level/CL? –  Rob Jan 28 '13 at 8:56
    
Added a blurb about the craft ranks counting as caster level. Is this what you had in mind? –  Ernir Jan 28 '13 at 18:50
2  
Note that 'creating a magic item' in this sense is actually 'making an existing item magical.' You'd still need to make or buy a masterwork longbow, which costs something in the realm of three hundred gold pieces. –  GMJoe Jan 29 '13 at 6:02
    
That's just what I meant, thanks :) –  Rob Jan 29 '13 at 7:15
add comment

The feat allows you to use your ranks in the appropriate craft skill as your caster level. For all intents and purposes, you could make magic items (specifically armor, weapons, and wondrous items) you could make as a spellcaster of that level.

For a +2 longbow from a sixth level fighter, the DC would be 11. Base DC 5 + 6 from the caster level needed to craft the item.

As for casting the spells that you need to craft certain magic items, you can either use scrolls or have someone cast the spell for you. Further specifics on this are discussed in the magic item creation section of the core rulebook.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.