Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is there any rules for wielding two weapons, one in each hand, and attacking with both? Do we assume for simplicity that there's no special rules for it and if you're attacking with two weapons you simply are?

I'd like to create a move about it but I don't know if I missed anything first.

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 5 down vote accepted

If you want to wield two weapons, just describe that you're wielding two weapons when you hack and slash. No additional moves required. The Ranger move is just a way to get a mechanical bonus—in this case, more damage.

Note that fighting with two weapons will hinder other actions you're taking, like whenever you're in combat or have your weapons drawn. Your descriptions now have to include that your hands are full.

You could also make a custom move, if your class doesn't have an advanced move that lets you pick a move from the Ranger class or if you want a different benefit.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Anyone can use two weapons at once. The primary advantage is that you can pair weapons with different ranges: a sword for when they're a few steps away and a dagger in case they get in close, for example.

The ranger's move is a special case: taking that move reflects training in striking with both at once and gives you bonus damage for it.

share|improve this answer
add comment

The Ranger has an advanced move that does precisely that.

VIPER STRIKE When strike an enemy with two weapons at once, add an extra 1d4 damage for your off-hand strike.

share|improve this answer
    
This implies that you can strike with two weapons at once normally; Viper Strike is just adding an extra 1d4 damage to the off-hand strike when you do. This implies that there ought to be rules somewhere for what attacking with two weapons is like normally. –  KRyan Jan 28 '13 at 20:38
    
A quick search for "weapon", "dual" or "off hand" gives no other result. I assume the ranger can make her hack'n'slash move with two weapons and if she so describes, bonus damage applies. Moreover, the move uses the standard "when you do this, that happens" structure: When (in fiction) you strike an enemy with two weapons at once... –  Zachiel Jan 28 '13 at 20:44
    
But it implies also that the off-hand strike is somehow a separate thing. –  KRyan Jan 28 '13 at 20:49
    
Actually I would go the other way. If you don't have a move that says you strike with two weapons, you can't do it. Same reason Bend bars and lift gates is meant for the fighter only. But I guess I could make a general move available to anyone but making the ranger's one more potent somehow. –  MrJinPengyou Jan 28 '13 at 20:51
2  
No, you can do things that you don't have a move for; you just get only the benefits of moves you can trigger. See this question for how to handle fiction that is covered by a move you don't have. Zachiel's has the right of it mostly, just you don't get a bonus to damage unless you set yourself up with a +Forward first through another move. –  SevenSidedDie Jan 28 '13 at 21:13
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.