Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In response to a monster saving against a dominate effect at the end of its turn, I successfully hit with Dark Reach of Xevut and chose to apply the dominate back to the same monster as an immediate reaction.

According to the rules, should our DM allow the monster to save against the reapplied effect during the end of the same turn?

share|improve this question
2  
I think you're asking the wrong question, I'm not sure the text of the power allows for the reapplication of the condition to the same monster. –  wax eagle Feb 19 '13 at 18:08
add comment

3 Answers

No, they can't save again. The creature you choose with Dark Reach of Xevut "gains the effect that the target saved against." It doesn't give them a new effect, but the same effect. The rules are clear: one saving throw per end of turn per effect.

Compendium - Saving Throws: (emphasis mine)

If a creature is subject to an effect that a save can end, the creature makes a saving throw against that effect at the end of each of its turns. An effect that a save can end includes one of the following notations: “save ends,” “save ends both,” or “save ends all.”

share|improve this answer
    
I'm not so sure about this. The rules don't say one saving throw per turn per effect - it says that you save against all identical effects at once, where identical effects are, for instance, two or more "dazed (save ends)" effects. This means you either fail or save against all "dazed (save ends)" effects in one roll, rather than making a separate save for each. There's a hole in the rules that doesn't describe what happens if a new effect appears after you've saved against others identical to it. –  Jonathan Hobbs Feb 1 '13 at 10:03
    
I've added a reference for clarity. None the less, if it weren't true that you may only make one save per effect per end of turn, it would allow one to roll multiple times for a given effect at the end of their turn which completely destroys the purpose of the saving throw. –  Trey Kirk Feb 4 '13 at 18:20
add comment

No, they cannot save again as Dark Reach of Xevut applies the effect to another enemy. The power's description says:

One enemy within 3 squares of the target gains the effect that the target saved against.

This indicates an enemy distinct from the one that saved against the effect. Power descriptions are very explicit in who can be / is targeted by a power. The power states that the target is the triggering enemy; they take the 2d8 + Cha Mod Psychic damage on a hit and another enemy receives the effect. The flavor text says the "affliction" is transferred to a nearby foe.

share|improve this answer
    
That first sentence is a bit difficult to parse. None the less, I think I get your gist and therefore would disagree: Xevut isn't a reaction to the end of turn. Rather, it's a reaction to the save. It's true that normally saves are done during the end of turn portion, but that's still moot. Once Xevut resolves, it returns to the target's end of turn where they may still continue to roll saves. –  Trey Kirk Feb 19 '13 at 19:00
2  
@TreyKirk Point. Re-read the power and modified answer according to new understanding—namely: "One enemy within 3 squares of the target" is worded such a way I would argue that it cannot be reapplied to the original effect's target. –  b33f3r Feb 19 '13 at 19:10
add comment

From the Rules Compendium p199

The creature can choose the order in which things happen at the end of its turn.

So, yes, since the new save ends effect is on that creature, and it is still at the end of their turn, they can try to save against it.

You avoid this problem if you bounce the effect to a new target.

share|improve this answer
    
I agree with this answer, but it's worth mentioning that this makes the power roughly worthless against solos who are actually fighting solo (barring various save-triggers-cheese builds, naturally). Like many choices, GM style can render this one impotent. –  BESW Jan 31 '13 at 5:29
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.