Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A skill gets a +3 bonus if it's a class skill. Do you only get the bonus once, or do you get the bonus for every rank put into the skill?

share|improve this question
3  
If you think you've answered your own question and that it will help others, you can add an answer below it instead of editing the question. It's completely OK to answer your own question once you've figured something out! Alternatively, if you don't think this will help others in the future, you can simply delete the question. –  SevenSidedDie Feb 2 '13 at 23:24
1  
@SevenSidedDie is correct, but Tom M cannot add the answer he found unless this is reopened, so voting to reopen. Not the most interesting question, but a valid one. Just don't include the answer you found as an edit to the question, add it as an answer. –  KRyan Feb 5 '13 at 2:04
1  
@KRyan I suspect Tom is long-gone and not going to return—being too busy happily rolling skill checks correctly, no doubt. :) When it reopens, feel free to add the answer yourself rather than wait. –  SevenSidedDie Feb 5 '13 at 2:13
add comment

1 Answer

You only get these bonuses once, the first time you put a rank into the skill (or the first time you take a level in a class that has it as a class skill, if you’d already had ranks in it).

Source: Pathfinder SRD – Class Skills

share|improve this answer
    
If someone actually goes and cites the relevant rules, that would make a better answer and I'll upvote that. –  KRyan Feb 5 '13 at 3:40
    
Better added right there! –  SevenSidedDie Feb 5 '13 at 5:16
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.