Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I don't know if this is referenced in the rulebooks or just a matter of houserule, but what happens if someone uses a cone-shaped spell or ability in a corridor that is narrower than the width of the cone?

Does the spell's area extend down the corridor to match the total area of the spell, or is the portion that intersects the walls just discounted and considered wasted?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

In 3.5, you have bursts (simply blocked by walls) and spreads (which basically move similarly to characters around obstacles, and have a “move speed” equal to the listed radius of the effect). In no case does an obstacle “funnel” the effect further in an unobstructed direction.

In previous editions of D&D, the area would be extended down the corridor, but that was eliminated by Wizards of the Coast in the interests of speeding up play, since figuring out the new area can be difficult. Ultimately, I agree with this decision and its reasoning, and would also add that spellcasters are already phenomenally powerful; it’s OK if that rare case comes up where a spell doesn’t work as well as it might have.

share|improve this answer

d20SRD has a word on spell areas.

By and large, the portion that intersects the walls is just wasted; in case of spread it may turn around the corners, if any.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.