Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can anyone help clear up the costs of magic items? I am looking at some magic items and the costs only say "+1 enhancement cost." For an example I will use the "Flaming" enhancement. Before an item can have a magical effect, it has to have a +1 enhancement in the first place. +1 enhancement is 2000g on its own. So would the "Flaming" enhancement be another +1 at the cost of 2000g for the total of 4000g? Or would they be considered a +2 enhancement combined and cost a total of 8000g? (This is of course seperate form the base item cost+masterwork price) I am trying to look at the information here, and I am having a hard time interpreting it. http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/magicWeapons.htm

share|improve this question
    
I feel like I've answered this question, more or less, before... Voting to close as a duplicate. –  KRyan Feb 5 '13 at 1:45
1  
@KRyan I think the answer is about the same but the question's point of difficulty is different enough to fall under loving the non-exact duplicate. –  SevenSidedDie Feb 5 '13 at 5:11

1 Answer 1

up vote 12 down vote accepted

When special abilities modify the enhancement bonus, you use the total enhancement bonus to determine cost. This applies to weapons, armor and shields.

Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses (except where specifically noted). A single weapon cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents) higher than +10.

Your example of a +1 Flaming weapon has a +2 enhancement bonus and thus costs 8000g + base item and masterworking.

Some qualities from outside of the SRD have direct cost modifiers like +300gp. These just add on to the price instead of changing the enhancement bonus.

share|improve this answer
    
I believe there is a caveat of an additional cost for multiple unrelated enchants. For instance a Keen Flaming shortsword? –  Ben-Jamin Feb 5 '13 at 0:10
3  
You'll have to give a citation for that. Sounds like a houserule to me. –  Simon Gill Feb 5 '13 at 0:12
5  
@Ben-Jamin There is no such additional cost when stacking weapon or armor enhancements. You may be thinking of the cost-addition rules for creating combined wondrous items, from the Magic Item Compendium. –  Ernir Feb 5 '13 at 0:57
    
@Ben-Jamin You might also be thinking of the extra 2,000 gp that has to be paid when enchanting a cold iron weapon, which by RAW was paid every single time you added another enchantment. I think every GM I've ever met houseruled that it only had to be paid the first time, though. –  GMJoe Feb 5 '13 at 4:03
    
I think @Ernir hit what I was talking about..my last DM must have combined it into weapos with a houserule which explains why I could never find the reference –  Ben-Jamin Feb 5 '13 at 14:57

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.