Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I ran into a problem in a game today when it came to Protection from (Energy). There was a character who had a bomb inside of them and the party though it would work if they cast Protection from (Fire) on them to absorb the blast damage. I ruled no, saying that Protection from (Energy) only works for external damage.

However our sorcerer has a spell called Burning Blood that deals internal fire/acid damage. If Protection from (Energy) spells only protect from external sources then Burning Blood would be immune.

I know it's splitting hairs, but unfortunately it's come to a point in the campaign where something as technical as this must be asked. Do Protection from (Energy) spells protect against internal or external sources?

share|improve this question
Aside, a bomb is mostly going to be force damage rather than fire, for which there is no protection spell (at least in the SRD). – SevenSidedDie Feb 5 '13 at 4:47
@SevenSidedDie Mm, most examples of 'force' in 3.5 are appear to be magical applications of strong and weak fundamental forces, "force-field"-style. Physical force applied by actual physical matter is usually given one or more weapon damage types, or the obscure 'crushing damage' type that isn't subject to DR and is associated with falling from a great heights and trash compactors. If you're going to rule that the rapid expansion of the bomb deals damage to the character's innards due to internal pressure, I'd say that crushing damage would be more appropriate than Force. – GMJoe Feb 5 '13 at 5:47
That said, I get the impression that the OP is being guided by that traditional example of an explosion in the core rules, the Fireball spell, which explicitly produces almost no pressure and would thus cause physical discomfort more severe than a burp. Apart from the fire damage, that is. – GMJoe Feb 5 '13 at 5:51
@GMJoe I base that mostly on the telekinetic powers, like Concussion Blast, that do force damage. But yeah, I see the argument for blunt or crushing weapon type damage, or just fire if it's a magic "bomb" that just emulates a fireball. – SevenSidedDie Feb 5 '13 at 16:19
It's pretty much up to you. I might mention though, that since you've already made your ruling, you should not be inconsistent about it simply because the players wish to turn it to their advantage. – Melon Feb 5 '13 at 23:37

There is no difference between damage taken internally or externally. With the exception of rules for abilities like Swallow Whole, 3.5 makes no distinction between damage taken from internal and external sources. The damage model is simply not complex enough to handle that level of granularity.

The rules text of Protection from (Energy) is quite clear on this matter:

Protection from energy grants temporary immunity to the type of energy you specify when you cast it (acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic). When the spell absorbs 12 points per caster level of energy damage (to a maximum of 120 points at 10th level), it is discharged.

If the bomb does fire damage, and the character takes fire damage, then they ignore the damage until it breaks through the spell, regardless of whether it's internal or external.

You may rule, however, that the bomb is not just fire, it may create a concussive blast as well. Most conventional bombs do. In that case, the character would be immune to the fire damage, but not the other kinds of damage.

share|improve this answer
(A concussive blast would probably be sonic damage, fwiw.) – starwed Feb 5 '13 at 4:24
Or bludgeoning. Sonic implies sound, while a concussive blast is typically just unfocused force. – DuckTapeAl Feb 5 '13 at 4:38
Or, potentially, Force damage. Though what, exactly, constitutes Force damage is exceptionally vague. It seems inherently magical in nature, despite the fact that non-magical instances of it exist... – KRyan Feb 5 '13 at 16:55
In "real world" terms, a concussive blast and a very loud sound wave are essentially the same thing. :) Also, I'm not aware of any non-magical Force effect other than that weird "Force Orb" side-effect that clearly wasn't on purpose... – starwed Feb 5 '13 at 18:00

The rules do not differentiate between internal and external damage. You’re free to do as you like in your own game, but your players have it right by the rules.

share|improve this answer
If it helps, imagine the spell enchanting the character's flesh to make it less flammable, rather than as a thin 'force field.' – GMJoe Feb 5 '13 at 5:19

I would say it protects from internal energy as well as external energy. The bomb is another matter, though--the primary damage is blast, not fire. I might knock off 25% for fire resistance but that's it.

share|improve this answer Is a page i found looking into fire bomb/bomb damage. In this page it says a "A splash weapon is a projectile that bursts on impact, spewing its contents over an area and damaging any creature or object within that area." It then continues to direct hit damage as, "Damage/Direct Hit Damage: The primary damage dealt by the weapon. For explosives, the Damage column shows the damage dealt to all creatures within the explosive’s burst radius. For splash weapons, the Direct Hit Damage column is used for a target directly struck by the weapon." Seeing as how you are trying to stop the damage with a spell as previously stated that will absorb magic damage of up to spell level. This would stop the splash damage from occuring as an alchemical bomb is a magic decice charged thru the alchemists hands/mathmatical understanding of magic poured from thier bodies into the flask/container. And as the bomb is being placed(?) Into the individual no strike dmage should occur. However if this is a non magical explosive device they can snuff fuse or if detenator is used they can pray.

share|improve this answer
That's not quite the same game; d20 Modern and 3.5, while certainly very similar in many respects, have some quirky differences, so a citation for one is not all that useful for the other. – TuggyNE Aug 7 '15 at 18:58

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.