Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Anyone that gets a Lay on hands from a Paladin also gets all the effects of the Paladin's Mercies. As the Channel Positive Energy uses two lay on hands do they also get the effects of the Mercies?

share|improve this question
up vote 13 down vote accepted


Quote from Pathfinder SRD:

Whenever the paladin uses lay on hands to heal damage to one target, the target also receives the additional effects from all of the mercies possessed by the paladin.

Using lay on hands to channel energy is clearly not the case.

share|improve this answer
Agreed, and as a broader rule, using resource X, normally used for Y, to do Z, is still not doing Y, and therefore doesn't qualify for bonuses/penalties associated with doing Y. – Melon Feb 7 '13 at 4:27
@Melon Even broader, anything that says, "The rules say I can do Thing X, does that mean I can also do (largely unrelated) Thing Y?", the answer is always "No." Possible duplicates: half the questions on this site. – Matthew Najmon Sep 4 '14 at 16:52

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.