Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does Turn Resistance from different sources stack?

Typed bonuses do not stack, however, turn resistance doesn't specify a type. So, if an undead gets a multiple bonuses to turn resistance do they stack or overlap?

The only reference I've been able to find is the feat: Improved Turn Resistance which specifically states that it stacks. No other sources I've seen state the type of bonus or how it interacts with other bonuses.

I'm surprised this hasn't been asked already (unless it was embedded in another question so I didn't see it)

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes, they do. As you say, it is an untyped bonus, which always stack unless they are from the same source (and the primary source of Turn Resistance, Improved Turn Resistance, specifically trumps that general rule).

share|improve this answer
1  
I guess the confusion is, if they always stack why would these feats specifically state it (this would infer that without this declaration they would not)? It never makes a point to say that the normal rules in effect are in effect for other feats. –  Ben-Jamin Feb 7 '13 at 0:14
2  
The rules are often redundant because human beings are not computers, and don't automatically remember how these things work. And because WotC is just as fallible... –  KRyan Feb 7 '13 at 0:18
    
Impeccable reasoning +1 –  Ben-Jamin Feb 7 '13 at 0:38
1  
I left the answer unaccepted for a day to give time for more responces..apparently the answer is so solid no other answers were warranted. Thx for the info –  Ben-Jamin Feb 7 '13 at 22:07

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.