Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the revised edition there's a rule about keeping two dice if somebody gives in a conflict. Can anybody spell it out for me?

What are circumstances, which dice, when who gives, who gets to use them and when?

Thanks!

share|improve this question
    
The version I have is copyright 2004 by D. Vincent Baker, GenCon '05 - that's not the revised edition, yes? –  Bryant Sep 3 '10 at 22:36
    
That's the edition I have, too. So no, but thanks for looking. –  Jmstar Sep 3 '10 at 23:32
    
I'm not sure about this but -- to speculate -- could it have to do with multi-party conflicts? –  J. Walton Sep 4 '10 at 17:47
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Vincent explains this on the Forge (where there is even more information).

The rule change

I'm the GM. My NPCs take a stack of fallout, but nobody cares if they live or die or what.

How it used to work: I pass all their fallout dice, unrolled, to the players, to roll with their dice in the followup conflict.

How it works now: I roll their fallout dice as I would if we cared about them. However, instead of assigning fallout, I pass the two highest showing dice across to the players for their side of the followup conflict. They don't reroll them.

This is to make followup conflicts less humiliating for me as the GM.

The new rule

If you give instead when it's your turn to raise, you get to "cut your losses."

Take your highest single showing die and set it aside. After you roll your dice for the followup conflict, add the "cut your losses" die back into the mix, without rerolling it.

This is to break the thing where people are by default staying in every conflict past when they should be ditching out.

share|improve this answer
    
Aha. OK, that is the rule in the edition Jmstar and I have (in case anyone gets confused). Cool! –  Bryant Sep 4 '10 at 19:16
add comment

Here's a cite:

"If you give instead of raising, it's called "cutting your losses," and you get to keep the single highest die showing on your side. Carry it into a followup conflict without rerolling it. It's on page 64 of the illustrated book, under "Giving," and then again on page 67, under "Followup Conflicts."

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.