Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In DnD 3.5, the dancing weapon enchantment says it 'fights for four rounds using the base attack bonus of the one who loosed it'. Does that mean if my base attack bonus is +6/+1, the weapon will also get two attacks from my high BAB?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes

Iterative attacks are part of the Base Attack Bonus rules and description; as such, anything that uses your BAB uses your iterative attacks unless it specifies otherwise, or is using a natural weapon (which have their own built-in exception). Since Dancing weapons do neither, they get the full benefit of your iteratives.

share|improve this answer
    
Does the dancing weapon get a full allotment of actions? Is it capable of taking the full attack action required to utilize the extra attacks a higher BAB would give? I don't see where it says either way. –  Steve G Feb 14 '13 at 21:18
    
Difficult to say since the wording is so poor (thanks, WotC) but I'd interpret "fights" as having the full complement of actions, especially since it's capable of independent movement. –  Lord_Gareth Feb 14 '13 at 23:49
    
Actually, movement is what made me question the actions the dancing sword gets. According to the SRD, it always occupies the space of the person who activated it, and moves with them: "While dancing, it takes up the same space as the activating character and can attack adjacent foes (weapons with reach can attack opponents up to 10 feet away). The dancing weapon accompanies the person who activated it everywhere, whether she moves by physical or magical means." –  Steve G Feb 14 '13 at 23:53
    
Interesting. Well, the only thing I can say is that since "fights" is not a defined game term, you'd need to ask your DM - the absolute RAW is unclear. I'd probably rule that it can make the full compliment of attacks, but at that juncture my interpretation is just that - an interpretation. –  Lord_Gareth Feb 14 '13 at 23:58
add comment

well, i think they dont, coz it uses you Base Attack Bonus (not Bonuses) the +6/+1 are Two (diferent) attack bonuses, so you have 2 attacks instead of just 1

by the way check the glossary

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/glossary&term=Glossary_dnd_baseattackbonus&alpha=

+6/+1 idicate you have a max of 2 attacks in a full round action, so if you have moved more than 5 feet you can just do a single attack with you first BAB (+6)

so, the "dancing weapon" has no level, no class, just the BAB of the one who lost it

any link fo iterative attack rules?

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.