Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If an item and or attack power in 4e gives a creature both the blinded and deafened status effects and the creature has no alternative senses (blind sight, tremor sight) is it reasonable to treat all other creatures as hidden from the blinded and deafened creature?

share|improve this question
5  
This is a great question, because it showcases the emphasis 4e places on exact mechanical definitions. –  BESW Feb 22 '13 at 21:51
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 9 down vote accepted

The blinded condition doesn't do that.

Blinded

  • The creature can’t see, which means its targets have total concealment against it.
  • The creature takes a -10 penalty to Perception checks.
  • The creature grants combat advantage.
  • The creature can’t flank.

A blinded creature cannot have combat advantage against anyone. (RC229)

People can hide anywhere from the blinded creature (since they have total concealment) but they're not automatically hidden. If they do hide, there's a -10 penalty to the Perception check to find them.

The only effect of the deafened condition is an additional -10 penalty to Perception (it is not total deafness) (RC230).

If the enemies don't hide, only a -5 to the blinded character's attack roll (for total concealment) applies.

For further reference, the Rules of Hidden Club might be useful.

share|improve this answer
    
I didn't think it applied, but I figured it worth asking. Since the rule don't really comment on a combination of blinded and deafened. –  Joshua Aslan Smith Feb 22 '13 at 20:27
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.