Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If an item and or attack power in 4e gives a creature both the blinded and deafened status effects and the creature has no alternative senses (blind sight, tremor sight) is it mechanically accurate to treat all other creatures as hidden from the blinded and deafened creature?

share|improve this question
This is a great question, because it showcases the emphasis 4e places on exact mechanical definitions. – BESW Feb 22 '13 at 21:51
up vote 11 down vote accepted

The blinded condition doesn't do that.


  • The creature can’t see, which means its targets have total concealment against it.
  • The creature takes a -10 penalty to Perception checks.
  • The creature grants combat advantage.
  • The creature can’t flank.

A blinded creature cannot have combat advantage against anyone. (RC229)

People can hide anywhere from the blinded creature (since they have total concealment) but they're not automatically hidden. If they do hide, there's a -10 penalty to the Perception check to find them.

The only effect of the deafened condition is an additional -10 penalty to Perception (it is not total deafness) (RC230).

If the enemies don't hide, only a -5 to the blinded character's attack roll (for total concealment) applies.

For further reference, the Rules of Hidden Club might be useful.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.