Here is the situation that happened in today's game:
Johnny Storm (Human Torch) as a NPC has d12 of Physical Stress, and has activated his Nova Flame SFX on his previous action.
He is attacked by a PC. He exploits his own stress on his reaction, but fails it by 15. His highest rolling dice on the reaction is a d12.
This means that simultaneously:
- His Physical Stress is step-up to d12+1, because he used it in his roll.
- He receives d12 Physical Stress from his Nova Flame.
- He receives d12+3 Physical Stress from the PC's attack.
Again, this all happens at the same time. We never had this kind of situation before, and couldn't find if the rules covered it.
How would that work?
- They are all applied one after the other. He takes d12+1 Stress and Trauma d6, then d12+3 Trauma, and is actually dead (not impossible, and I am not against it).
- Only the biggest effect of the three is applied. He takes d12+3 Stress and Trauma d6.
- Something else?
Disclaimer: I am looking for an answer as official as possible. I know it is "narrative first" and I could declare him dead or not. I know I could transfer the Stress to mental or emotional just in case. And I know I could ask the player if he wants to not stress him out.