Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

At second level Master of Shrouds (LM p46) gets Summon Undead ability:

Summon Undead (Sp):At 2nd level and higher, a master of shrouds can summon one or more incorporeal undead creatures a number of times per day equal to 3 + her Charisma modifier (minimum 1). This ability is otherwise identical to the summon monsterspells, except that a master of shrouds adds her Charisma modifier (if positive) to the duration of the effect.

At 2nd level, a master of shrouds can summon a single shadow. At 4th level, she can summon one wraith or two shadows. At 6th level, she can summon one spectre, two wraiths, or four shadows. At 8th level, she can summon one greater shadow, two spectres, four wraiths, or four shadows. At 10th level, she can summon one dread wraith, two greater shadows, four spectres, four wraiths, or four shadows.

What is the caster level of Summon Undead ability? What is its spell level?

Given no rules clarification, I'll probably rule that it is equal to divine caster level, but I'm primarily interested in rules' viewpoint. As for spell level, 1 + 1 per 2 levels of Master of Shrouds seems a good idea.

share|improve this question
    
Looking at the summon undead spells in the Spell Compendium (p215), summoning a single shadow would require the 5th level version of the spell. So consider using something higher as your baseline. (I think these spells are also in LM.) –  starwed Feb 27 '13 at 14:11

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

The following general rule about Spell-like abilities applies:

If no caster level is specified, the caster level is equal to the creature’s Hit Dice.

See the general description of Spell-like abilities.

The spell level does not seem to be defined (nor is it necessary in this case).

share|improve this answer
    
It is, for the application of metaSLA feats. Thanks for the caster level tip! –  Jeor Mattan Feb 27 '13 at 13:34
1  
@JeorMattan By the RAW, it looks like you simply can't use metaSLA feats on abilities that don't duplicate specific spells. –  starwed Feb 27 '13 at 13:41
    
@starwed seems right, though the requirement is implicit and probably stems from the poor wording. –  Jeor Mattan Feb 27 '13 at 14:00
    
@JeorMattan If a (Sp) doesn't replicate a specific spell, it would be hard to gauge its power for the feats. So perhaps a matter of expedience rather than poor wording. –  starwed Feb 27 '13 at 14:09
    
@starwed if a SLA does not replicate a specific spell, a spell level equivalent should be stated in its description, for that very purpose. d20srd entry for SLAs implicitly suggests that (see save DC calculation). –  Jeor Mattan Feb 27 '13 at 14:39

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.