Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A powerful but unskilled sorcerer throws a fireball at Harry, but draws in more power than he can hope to control. Being a selfish, cowardly (ie, typical) villain he lets the power loose as fallout rather than taking stress from backlash. The GM rules that the fallout causes the room to be set On Fire.

  • Does the On Fire aspect have a tag (free invocation) associated with it?
  • If so, who does the tag 'belong' to? The sorcerer? The GM?
share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

No. Only Aspects deliberately placed by a character can be tagged for free. All others are just plain ol' Aspects, regardless of how or when they are created, and can be invoked or compelled in the usual way using Fate points.

Consequences are an exception because the rules make an explicit provision for that. They're the consequence of your attack, so it makes sense that you could immediately exploit them.

The On Fire aspect is not something anyone set about to cause, and everyone is equally surprised by its sudden impact on the scene—everyone has to put some effort into it, if they want to turn it to their advantage.

share|improve this answer
    
What about consequences? They seem like a grey area in the "deliberately placed by a character" definition because the target is choosing to take them and decides what they are-- but they explicitly grant tags to the attacker (YS204). –  BESW Mar 2 '13 at 2:04
1  
@BESW That would be because the rules make an explicit provision for that. They're the consequence of your attack, so it makes sense that you could immediately exploit them. The On Fire aspect, on the other hand, is not something anyone set about to cause, and everyone is equally surprised by its sudden impact on the scene—everyone has to put some effort into it, if they want to turn it to their advantage. –  SevenSidedDie Mar 2 '13 at 2:08
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.