Does a Level 4 Monk deal full damage against a creature with DR 5/Slashing?
From the D20 SRD regarding Damage Reduction: "The creature takes normal damage from energy attacks (even nonmagical ones), spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities. A certain kind of weapon can sometimes damage the creature normally, as noted below."
At Level 4, the Monk gains Ki Strike as a supernatural ability, allowing the strikes to be treated as magical for the purposes of damage reduction.
However, does the bit about being treated as Magic matter? The strikes are now a supernatural ability, and supernatural abilities bypass damage reduction. This interpretation would seem to make Ki Strike very broad, and the addition of the Lawful characteristic at level 10 superfluous.
I would expect that a monk would not be able to bypass DR 5/Slashing, but Rules As Written seems to be murky.