Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This is a question asked on a french forum: http://www.black-book-editions.fr/forum/index.php?topic=3484.0

Let's say you have a fork (in particular, alpha fork) and you merge. The fork might have accumulated rez points. How do the rez points merge? Are they just added together?

share|improve this question
1  
+1 for good grief, how did I not ask this already? An interesting and important mechanical question. –  Tynam Mar 9 '13 at 13:00
    
@Tynam Yes, that's exactly what I thought when the guy asked. –  Klaim Mar 9 '13 at 13:53
    
I would keep the higher of the two XP and average out the moxie. It's a good question! –  Robobot Mar 9 '13 at 19:00
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

On p.384 of the EP core rulebook, it states that rez points are awarded at the end of every story arc, at the break in the action between one adventure and the next.

With that in mind it's more important what your character did during the course of the story arc than how different forks may have helped him accomplish those feats. So for example, if sending an alpha fork to investigate the abandoned space station helped the character accomplish his objective, the merged character gets a rez point. Basically whatever happened to the alpha fork while it was off doing its thing doesn't matter. What matters is what the character did, whether he had to fork and merge to get the job done or not.

share|improve this answer
    
I see but you mean that it should be the same whatever the time spent between the fork and the merge? What if the alpha fork did things for years and then they merge? We still assume it's the character played that have rez not added by by the fork? –  Klaim Mar 10 '13 at 9:35
    
Or maybe you mean that whatever the case earning Rez points is totally independent from merging and should be only based on objectives accomplished? –  Klaim Mar 10 '13 at 9:44
    
I may not have expressed it well, but my point was that rez points are for the character. To your first comment, if an alpha fork goes off for years, it's not going to merge, because it has become a new character. To your second comment, yes, rez points are for accomplishments made by the character, regardless of how those accomplishments are achieved. –  Erik Schmidt Mar 11 '13 at 23:27
    
+1 for rez != experience. –  GMJoe Mar 12 '13 at 6:52
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.