Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

It recently occurred to me that each monster in the MM has a treasure value, I've been rolling on the treasure table per encounter, am I supposed to roll per monster that has a treasure value over "none"?

Example: There are 2 orcs in a room making a CR1 encounter for a lvl 1 party do I roll on the treasure table for each Orc or for both orcs together?

share|improve this question
    
For the future, it's usually a good idea to wait at least a day or two before accepting an answer. It gives more people a chance to see it and think about/research their answers, so you get a broader and deeper range of responses. Once an answer's accepted, the likelihood of getting more answers drops noticeably. –  BESW Mar 14 '13 at 15:33
    
I will keep that in mind. –  Jonn_Underwood Mar 14 '13 at 16:30
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

The rules are pretty explicit on that particular point, at least for standard loot:

Refer to the treasure tables and roll d% once for each type of treasure (Coins, Goods, Items) on the Level section of the table that corresponds to the creature’s Challenge Rating (for groups of creatures, use the Encounter Level for the encounter instead).

So for groups, you roll once, using the total CR/encounter level.

There's no discussion of groups with mixed treasure type. But since rolling for treasure is completely optional in the first place (as the DM you can assign whatever treasure you like!) this isn't exactly a huge problem.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.