Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can a player continually play the same Deva character according to RAW?

The reason I ask is because according to the PHB2, the deva are simply continually reincarnated to a deva shrine or holy place of some kind. Though usually without many of their previous memories, this does not mean the personality is gone.

share|improve this question
    
It's not really possible to provide a useful answer to this question without some more details of what you have in mind. –  starwed Mar 14 '13 at 19:45
    
The D&D Novel Spinner of Lies by Bruce Cordell has as a main character a Deva named Damascus. I've not read it so I can't really suggest what you might learn from the book, but it could help. –  Simon Withers Mar 16 '13 at 2:59

1 Answer 1

up vote 12 down vote accepted

It's really more of a fluff thing, so RAW doesn't enter into it.

Personalities do remain the same, but having lost the vast majority of his/her memories it's very much up for the debate whether s/he is "the same" person.

Additionally, it's not unreasonable for your DM to claim that since the deva lost all his/her memories, s/he is back to being a level 1 character.

Even if your DM does allow you to return with your earned level and all skills/feats, that doesn't really do much to help you rejoin the party. They don't know where you reincarnated, and you don't even know who they are or that you're supposed to be helping them. Also, what happened to all your equipment?

Finally, (unless my memory has betrayed me) nothing in the description indicates how long it takes for a deva to reincarnate. It doesn't do you much good to have your character return with all their levels & feats if it takes you a decade to do so: the story's plot is probably not going to just sit on hold while you reincarnate.

TLDR: Only if you convince your DM to handwave away a lot of fluff issues.

share|improve this answer
    
For all we know, the OP is the DM. –  starwed Mar 14 '13 at 19:34
2  
@starwed: Then the TLDR becomes "only if you handwave away a lot of fluff issues." –  Oblivious Sage Mar 14 '13 at 19:38
    
Yes, I was suggesting you rewrite your answer. –  starwed Mar 14 '13 at 20:19
2  
@starwed: I'm not sure it's really necessary. –  Oblivious Sage Mar 14 '13 at 20:21
2  
Would the downvoter like to explain? It's a judgement call on the DM's part, based on the issues I described. Whether the asker is a DM trying to decide whether to allow it or a player wanting to attempt it, the issues don't change. @starwed –  Oblivious Sage Mar 14 '13 at 21:07

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.