Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Do all spells that require a focus need their own dedicated focus, or can you use the same item as a focus for multiple spells as long as it meets the criteria? For example, say you have three spells that as foci, respectively, a gem worth 10gp, a gem worth 50gp, and a clear gem or prism. Would you need to have all those in your inventory, or could you just use one clear gem of 50gp for all three spells?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

There are no general mechanics tying an item used as a focus to a spell after it has been used.

In the case of gems, just make sure the GP values match what each individual spell demands.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.