Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If your dice pool is ever reduced to zero or fewer dice, you can still make a "chance roll."

A chance roll gives me one die. If I spend willpower on that roll, does it bump me up to four dice? Or do I start from whatever pool ended up giving me the chance die to begin with and then add three?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

You add three dice to your original pool, not to the chance die.

From the section on Willpower, p. 132:

Willpower should be spent and three dice are added to your dice pool before all penalties for your roll have been applied. So, form your pool, add all bonuses — including your three dice from Willpower — and then subtract all penalties. Yes, that means if penalties are sufficiently extreme, you could be reduced to a chance roll even if you have spent Willpower for three extra dice.

(Emphasis mine.)

In fact, the example in the book involves just this situation and concludes, "You must make a chance roll for your character to succeed, even though you spent Willpower on the task."

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.