Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The hallow and unhallow spells cancel each other by overlapping.

Does this mean the attached spell (e.g. silence) is canceled as well?

share|improve this question
    
My question was a bit off target because of a bad translation in the Italian manual, reading Counters and dispel instead of counters but not dispel. JonathanHobbs's answer made me aware of the bad assumption in his answer. –  Zachiel Mar 24 '13 at 20:24

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Reading from the 3e SRD articles on Unhallow and Hallow, they both mention this:

Unhallow counters but does not dispel hallow.

Hallow counters but does not dispel unhallow.

It explicitly states the land is still both hallowed and unhallowed, and doesn't suggest that anything happens to their spell effects (if it does, that's very, very unclear). For that matter, a body in such an area can still not be turned into an undead creature, since the hallowed area effects are still in play.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.