Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

An example of what I am trying to understand is the power Brash Assault. The effect states "Effect: The target can make a melee basic attack against you as a free action and has combat advantage for the attack. If the target makes this attack, an ally of your choice within 5 squares of the target can make a basic attack against the target as a free action and has combat advantage for the attack. "

My GM says that I need to hit with the attack to offer the effect and gain the ally attacks. I think he is wrong and the effect happens whether I hit or miss. Please advise.

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 12 down vote accepted

This is easily resolved: there's a whole section in the PHB that tells you how to read power descriptions. Turn to p.59, and look at the part on what "Effects" means. It says that

Many powers produce effects that take place regardless of whether your attack roll succeeds, and other powers have effects that occur without an attack roll being required.

So there you go; the effect happens regardless of whether you hit or not. That's the whole point of having separate Hit, Miss, and Effect lines.

I'd assume there's a similar description in their digital content, but to be honest I haven't followed 4e since its release.

share|improve this answer

The keyword "Effect" means that it happens when you use the power, regardless of whether you hit or miss.

The keyword "Hit" means that it only happens on a hit.

For example, my monk's power "One Hundred Leaves" has the following stat block:

Attack: Dexterity vs. Reflex

Hit: 3d8 + Dexterity modifier damage, and you push the target 2 squares.

Miss: Half damage, and you push the target one square.

Effect: Until the end of your next turn, you can target one additional creature in range with your flurry of blows power.

This means that when I use the power, I get the additional flurry of blows attack regardless of whether I hit or not. Then, if I hit, I get what's under the "hit" block, and if I miss, I get what's under the "miss" block. It's the same in your case - effects happen regardless of a hit.

ETA: Whoops, someone else answered while I was typing. Still, hopefully this helps clarify.

share|improve this answer

If a Power has a section which specifies: Attack: X vs. Y

(X being one of the abilities, and Y being one of the Defensive Stats.)

That means you perform a roll to determine the 'Success' of the Power in Question. It does not have to be such a literal term as 'Hit' or 'Miss'.

With 'Brash Assault' the factor determined can be viewed as the Coordination between you and the Ally - Do you succeed in coordinating? Hit or Miss.

In simple Terms, Yes. It (you) need to 'Hit' / 'Succeed' on a Roll in order to work.

share|improve this answer
    
In Brash Assault. The card reads: Attack: Strength vs. AC Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier damage. The X vs Y affects the hit and damage. The effect is them below that. –  The Doctor Mar 23 '13 at 22:16
    
I see. I would seem I was wrong. –  Lucifer Mar 23 '13 at 22:37

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.