Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was arguing with my DM over if the Trampling special ability allowed you to run over many units. I said that my summoned celestial elephant could run in a straight line and trample all units it runs over; my DM said I had to stop over the first I run over.

What's your take?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

You can run over multiple.

Looking at, the rules for trampling state: "The creature merely has to move over the opponents in its path". The plural "opponents" is used several times in the description.

Line them up and mow them down :)

Also, there is no mention about being forced to stop prior to moving twice your speed for any reason.

share|improve this answer
Thank you. My rulebooks are in French and it's more ambiguous than that. – zneak Sep 7 '10 at 0:27

As Pat notes, the Trample special ability allows you to make multiple such attacks per round; your DM may have been thinking of the Trample feat, which is, of course, totally unrelated to the Trample special ability; it instead improves the Overrun special attack, which does not allow more than one use per round (even with the feat).

share|improve this answer
Nah, it really was the special ability. We've read the description out loud a few times. – zneak Sep 8 '10 at 1:30
...I’d never noticed that. sigh Chalk another one up to wonderful editors at WotC. – KRyan Oct 7 '13 at 15:46

A mount can only trample once per turn. There is however a feat called cavalry charger in complete warrior that allows you to overrun multiple targets. See the entry for Fell Trample under the tactical feat cavalry charger. This is the rules for when you are mounted atop the beast.

Should you simply be trampling as an attack(which means the rider doesnt get an attack) the beast as a full round action travels twice its speed and overruns all targets in that line. should any targets only be partially be in the line, then they are allowed a reflex to avoid the trample.

share|improve this answer
Welcome to the site! Please take a look at the tour and the help; they're a useful introduction to the site. And once you have 20+ rep, feel free to join the chat! You should make clear that you're talking about Trample the Mounted Combat feat, rather than Trample the monster special attack. (The two aren't related at all despite the identical name.) – Tridus Oct 7 '13 at 15:08
I think this answer could benefit from making the distinction between the feat and the special ability more clear (see Burrito's answer). – Ernir Oct 7 '13 at 17:12

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.