Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Are there any rules - be they official or side-bar optional ones - as to what happens when a player rolls a 1 on their initiative roll?

Is the initiative roll something you can critically fail at?

share|improve this question
5  
I wait.... [ ](rpg.stackexchange.com/q/2376/8) –  yhw42 Nov 8 '10 at 19:00
add comment

4 Answers

up vote 18 down vote accepted

There are no official rules in Dungeons and Dragons version 3, 3.5 or 4 to additionally penalize a character who rolls a 1 on their initiative roll. (Other than seeing most other folks go before them.) :)

share|improve this answer
4  
Neither in OD&D, the BD&Ds, or AD&D (either edition). –  SevenSidedDie Nov 12 '10 at 20:23
add comment

You accept it as a face-value, adding the eventual +4 modifier for improved initiative.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Nothing usually, like a skill check it cannot be critically failed because that does not make sense. If you want, I have used the following house rules (DND3.5):

  • Finish adding your initiative together:

    • Higher than something you are fighting (eg. an ooze), you go last for the first round and then in the normal spot for the rest.
    • Less than everything, miss the first round and then you go as normal.

However, I'm not a complete monster, it works in the other direction too.

If you get a score 10 or more higher than EVERYthing/EVERYyone else:

  • You get an extra partial/swift/standard action for being just that aware/quick.
  • *For rogues sneak attack does not apply because if they are going first you will get sneak attack on the creature anyway and I'm afraid of that many d6s.

That's my personal ruling, no real rule for it that I know of.

share|improve this answer
    
I love the ruthlessness of it! But I'm confused by the "Higher than something you are fighting" part... should that read "Lower than..." –  LeguRi Nov 12 '10 at 14:34
    
@LeguRi: I read it as "If you roll a 1 AND are not the worst init, you go last in the 1st round, then move to your init count. If you roll a 1 AND have the worst init, you get skipped in the first round." –  yhw42 Nov 12 '10 at 20:41
    
@yhw42: that's it, you have it –  thefemmedm Nov 13 '10 at 8:30
add comment

The fact that the player will most likely go last is bad enough. Sometimes bad rolls happen, in cases like initiative and damage (not attack roles) there is no need to add any additional effect.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.