Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Battlerager fighters gain temporary hit points from hitting with melee and close attacks, "plus any temporary hit points normally granted by the power" (exact words used in the compendium).

The Invigorating keyword is defined such that when a character trained in endurance hits with an invigorating power, they gain temporary hit points.

So, are the temporary hit points granted by the combination of the invigorating keyword on the power, and the character being skilled in Endurance "temporary hit points normally granted by the power"?

share|improve this question
    
Make sure you're looking at the errata. The important point there being the hit points don't stack. This was kind of a big issue in our campaign. –  C. Ross Sep 8 '10 at 12:14
    
Wait, so are you asking if a fighter, not trained in endurance would get the temp hp from the battlerager power? If so I'd say yes... you wouldn't get the invigorating temp hp of course but the power is still has the keyword even if you don't qualify for the bonus. –  SladeWeston Sep 8 '10 at 22:03
    
No was was asking about the temporary hit points granted by the combination of endurance and the invigorating keyword, and how they interact with the temporary hit points granted from the Battlerager vigor class feature. –  Simon Withers Sep 8 '10 at 23:56
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes, Battleragers get to double dip on the invigorating powers.

InvigoratingDDI is defined on p7 of the Martial Power book.

Here is a link to the same question (and some related ones) on the wizards board.

This simple table tells you how many temp hp you receive. (Assuming a Battlerager with Endurance)

Power type        Hit     Miss
------------------------------
Invigorating     2xCon    Con
Regular           Con      0

Temporary HP do not stack. If you gain THP (Temporary Hit Points) and currently have THP, then retain only the highest number of THP.

share|improve this answer
    
Is that based on an expectation on how the rules should work? Or on interpreting invigorating temp hp as being a "normally granted by the power", or from another rule or ruling? –  Simon Withers Sep 8 '10 at 4:44
    
Yes, invigorating powers normally grant temp hp. That is the function of the invigorating keyword. –  Pat Ludwig Sep 8 '10 at 5:35
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.