Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can I double tap (as per the feat) with a .44 magnum in d20 Modern?

share|improve this question
    
The first d20 modern question! –  Iain M Norman Sep 8 '10 at 15:53
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

The .44 magnum is listed as a semi-automatic weapon so, yes you can double tap if you meet the following pre-requisites:

1. Dex 13
2. Point Blank Shot feat
3. Double Tap feat
4. At least two bullets in your 44!
share|improve this answer
    
Does the revolver .44 mag count as semi for the purpose of the feat? –  C. Ross Sep 8 '10 at 16:28
    
@C. Ross: It's listed as semi-auto in the equipment section, and that feature is all the feat refers to. –  SevenSidedDie Sep 8 '10 at 17:06
    
I'd say the semi-auto requirement is just to exclude single shot weapons that would need reloading between shots, which you can't of course double tap with! You can in real life double tap with a revolver, as you could with an M4 set to semi, but it'd be harder with something with no semi option, such as an M60, which is help up by the rules as written. –  Iain M Norman Sep 9 '10 at 11:06
add comment

The mechanics of a revolver are VERY different from the mechanics of a semi-auto pistol. When fired, a semi-auto will fire the round, eject the spent cartridge, chamber a new round, and recock the hammer.

When a revolver fires, the gun returns to it's "safe" state. The hammer is forward and uncocked. When one attempts to "double tap" the revolver, you need to pull the trigger so that the cylinder rotates, the hammer comes back and then fires.

Double tapping on a semi-auto is much easier as the trigger is in it's "hair trigger" position.

I'd say you should not be able to do it with a revolver.

share|improve this answer
    
+1 @Pulsehead for a great explanation of how the firearm works (We need you for the firearms stackexchange!). It's not the way the rules read, but it would make a good house rule. I can double tap a .38 revolver btw. –  C. Ross Sep 9 '10 at 12:55
    
One CAN do 2 quick trigger pulls on a revolver. The problem is that the force needed to pull that trigger the second time (and the first assuming it's not cocked beforehand) is an amount that the sight picture would be thrown off. hence I'd houserule that you can't... or would take something like a +4-5 (in d20) penalty. I think Shadowrun did it very well. You could, but the penalty was +2, and that was on a handful of d6's –  Pulsehead Sep 9 '10 at 13:06
1  
One of the biggest contentions about d20 Modern has always been how accurate their firearms rules are. Personally I think they struck a good balance. I do add house rules for realism when playing my friends who are soldiers and the like. As far as the revolver double tap, whether the site picture change is enough to throw you off target depends on range, skill, etc. The feat already has a -2 penalty, which I think is close enough. –  C. Ross Sep 9 '10 at 14:38
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.