As a rogue I want to start making better use of the Acrobatics skill to move through threatened squares to get better positioning. However, I have been holding back because I am a little unclear on the penalties for failure.
The rules specify that if you fail a check to move through an enemy's space you provoke an attack of opportunity and you fail to move. However, it does not specify the penalty for failing the check to move through a threatened square.
What is the penalty for failing to move through a threatened square? You don't move and you provoke? You can still move, but you provoke? You don't provoke, but you also don't move? Or can you decide to either provoke or to not move?