Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I know that blasts require LoS in 4e and I feel like bursts require line of effect between the target square and the creature but one my players asked if a burst would hit diagonally around a hard corner and I wanted to say a hard no, but then remembered reading somewhere about bursts "splashing" around corners and had doubt enter my mind. Can anyone help me weigh in on this.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 7 down vote accepted

From my reading of the PHB, both require line of effect from their origin square, and neither require line of sight (p272):

A blast affects a target only if the target is in the blast’s area and if there is line of effect from the origin square to the target.

and

A burst affects a target only if there is line of effect from the burst’s origin square to the target.

You are probably remembering a rule from 3.5 that allowed spreads to do exactly what you describe. But 4e is a bit simpler; you only check whether there's line of effect from the origin of the spell. (I'm sure there are exceptions, but those will be explicitly called out.)

share|improve this answer
    
Less me remembering than someone putting that idea in my heads at one of my early play sessions @ an encounters game before I ever GM'd. I figured that it didnt have any special exceptions but just wanted to confirm. –  Joshua Aslan Smith Apr 1 '13 at 15:33
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.