Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The attack "Storm Hammer" says hit:1d8+_(wisdom modifier)lighting and thunder damage... how do I tell how much damage to inflict?

share|improve this question
    
Each time you use this attack, you will roll one 8-sided die and add your wisdom modifier (not score), then do this amount of damage. –  Dakeyras Apr 23 '13 at 21:21
    
@Dakeyras I took a guess and assumed the question was mostly related to the fact that it was "lightning and thunder"-typed damage. –  KRyan Apr 23 '13 at 21:24
    
Welcome to RPG.StackExchange.com. Please take a look at the About page when you get a chance (you can get a badge for it). –  C. Ross Apr 23 '13 at 22:21
add comment

1 Answer

The amount of damage is equal to rolling an 8-sided die, and adding your Wisdom modifier to it. So for example if you have 16 Wisdom, your modifier is +3, and if you roll a 4 on the 8-sided die, you get 4+3 = 7 damage.

The type of the damage is both Thunder and Lightning. That is to say, for the above example, you do not deal 4 Lightning and 3 Thunder damage or something, it deals 7 (Lightning and Thunder) damage.

Multi-typed damage basically counts as whatever is best for you: the target uses the lowest resistance it has to any of the listed types.

So in the case of Storm Hammer, immunity to Lightning damage does no good: the creature would then have to use its Thunder resistance (if any). To be completely immune, the creature would need immunity to both. If the creature is vulnerable to either type, it takes that extra damage. If it is vulnerable to both, then it takes the extra damage from each.

share|improve this answer
    
So does lightning deal 4 damage and thunder deal 3? –  John Apr 23 '13 at 21:39
    
No, you deal 7 damage, which is classed as both Lightning and Thunder at the same time. A creature immune to Thunder damage would still take 7 damage, because the damage is also classed as Lightning. –  Phil Apr 23 '13 at 21:41
    
Why exactly does it deal 7? Will anything's classed as lightning and thunder always deal 7 damage? –  John Apr 23 '13 at 21:47
    
@john the "7" is an example, obtained by positing that the 1d8 roll gave a 4, and the character had a +3 as Wisdom modifier. You seem a bit confused about basic mechanics. Have you ever played DnD or any other tabletop RPG? –  p.marino Apr 23 '13 at 22:16
2  
@John The point of thunder-and-lightning is that it benefits from anything that improves thunder, anything that improves lightning, and affects things that are immune to one but not the other. It's quite beneficial. –  KRyan Apr 23 '13 at 22:45
show 3 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.